Member Articles


Autonomy Curacao and Sint Maarten 

Published: January, 2007 - Netherlands Antilles

Submission: January, 2007


On November 2, 2006 The Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Island Territories of Curacao and (Dutch) St. Maarten have reached an agreement on the autonomy of Curaçao and St. Maarten, which are currently part of the Netherlands Antilles.

The Netherlands Antilles is one of the three countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom furthermore comprises The Netherlands and Aruba. Aruba received its autonomous status in 1986 and will remain autonomous. 

Parties have not yet agreed on the effective date of their November 2 agreement. Upon effectiveness the two islands of Curacao and St. Maarten will become separate countries within the Kingdom. The three smaller islands of the Netherlands Antilles - Bonaire, Saba and Statia - will become part of The Netherlands.

As separate countries Curacao and St. Maarten will work closely together with The Netherlands on financial en legal issues. 

VanEps Kunneman VanDoorne has offices in Curacao and Aruba. We will keep you informed on the legal implications of the autonomous status of Curacao and St. Maarten.






WSG Member: Please login to add your comment.