Member Articles

 

(Almost) Year-End Tax Alert 

by Kenneth K. Bezozo, Arthur M. Nathan, Vicki L. Martin-Odette, Matthew R. Schindel, Brandon S. Jones, Kimberly Stein Szarzynski, S. Troy Christensen, Lauren Waite

Published: November, 2010 - USA

Submission: December, 2010

 



In response to the current state of the economy, Congress has passed some tax legislation amending the Internal Revenue Code (the “Code”). Although it is up for debate, some would say that Congress has not been busy enough. As we near the end of the year, many taxpayers and their advisers are going through their usual year-end tax planning checklist. This year, planning may be greatly impacted both by recent legislation and by items that Congress has not yet addressed, including, among others, the extension (or lapse) of the “Bush tax cuts.”


In anticipation of 2010’s year-end tax planning, the following brief discussion highlights some of Congress’s most recent changes to the Code, as provided in the Small Business Jobs Act of 2010, and summarizes some of the items that still are pending and for which we are awaiting some clarity.


Alert topics include:


SMALL BUSINESS JOBS ACT OF 2010


  • Business Investment Incentives
  • Liberalized Expensing
  • Fringe Benefit Assistance
  • New Reporting and Payments

TO BE OR NOT TO BE? - OUTSTANDING YEAR-END QUESTIONS


  • Provisions that Expired at the End of 2009
  • Provisions Set to Expire at the End of 2010
  • On the Horizon

To read the full alert, click on Link to article below. Note that this alert contains a general discussion of the law and is not intended to address any particular circumstance. If you have any questions or would like to discuss these or any other tax concerns, please contact any of the attorneys listed below.

Kenneth K. Bezozo
212.659.4999
kenneth.bezozo@haynesboone.com



Arthur M. Nathan
713.547.2009
arthur.nathan@haynesboone.com



Vicki Martin-Odette
214.651.5674
vicki.martin‑odette@haynesboone.com



Matthew R. Schindel
214.651.5368
matthew.schindel@haynesboone.com



Brandon S. Jones
817.347.6626
brandon.jones@haynesboone.com



Kim Szarzynski
214.651.5582
kim.szarzynski@haynesboone.com



Troy Christensen
214.651.5677
troy.christensen@haynesboone.com



Lauren Waite
214.651.5385
lauren.waite@haynesboone.com



 



Link to article

 

MEMBER COMMENTS

 

 

WSG Member: Please login to add your comment.

    Disclaimer